Caernarfon Town 1-1 Newtown: Rushton strikes late as the points are shared at The Oval

Profile picture of Lewis Sharpe
Lewis Sharpe December 19, 2020
  • Posts
  • Y Clwb Pel Droed
  • Caernarfon Town 1-1 Newtown: Rushton strikes late as the points are shared at The Oval

Author: Lewis Sharpe

Publisher: Y Clwb Pel Droed

An end-to-end draw at The Oval maintains Caernarfon’s unbeaten run and ends Newtown’s four-game losing streak

A composed first-half finish from Sion Bradley was cancelled out by a late Nick Rushton equaliser, meaning the sides share the points in North Wales.

The draw means Huw Griffiths’ side, unbeaten in four, climb into fourth spot after bouncing back fantastically from their 6-0 defeat at Penybont.

Newtown’s point is their first in three games, ending an unwanted losing streak and allowing them to climb out of the relegation zone in the process.

The first chance of the game fell to the visitors when Nick Rushton’s near post attempt forced a strong save out of Josh Tibbetts.

Neil Mitchell came close minutes later as his side-footed volley flew wide of the post.

Caernarfon then grew into the game, being denied twice in quick succession with a Sion Bradley shot being blocked off the line. Jack Kenny then followed in and his attempt from just outside the six-yard-box was saved superbly by Dave Jones.

The conditions were prominent from the off, with multiple Caernarfon through balls being over-hit in the wind.

Kenny came close once again when his flicked-on headed attempt bounced narrowly wide of the post.

Defender Kieran Mills-Evans was denied by a goal-mouth scramble as Caernarfon bodies blocked multiple goal-bound efforts consecutively before Tibbetts collecting.

Dave Jones denied Telor Williams of a goal of the season contender as the latter’s well-struck effort was saved in the top-corner.

Gareth Edwards’ goal was denied as the referee claimed a Caernarfon player has fouled in the build-up.

Canary defender Joe Williams displayed his defensive capabilities throughout the first half, with multiple sliding tackles stopping Newtown attacks.

James Davies failed to convert after an incredible solo run when he beat three opponents and played Rushton through on goal whose shot was saved by Tibbetts. Davies followed in but his attempt bobbled wide of the post.

The deadlock was broken by Sion Bradley who, after being found by Jamie Crowther, cut the ball onto his left foot before finding the bottom corner.

Darren Thomas came close to compiling misery on the Robins when his shot from range forced another save from Jones.

Caernarfon were nearly made to regret their missed chances when Sean McAllister’s goal-bound lofted attempt was heroically cleared off the line by Mike Parker.

Bradley had an opportunity to secure his brace in the final five minutes of the half but was denied by a Jordan Evans block.

George Hughes almost levelled seconds before half time but his attempt was blocked off the line by Joe Williams.

In the second half, Newtown were also made victims of the conditions as an over-hit McAllister pass travelled out of reach for Jamie Breese and into the hands of Tibbetts.

After capitalising on a defensive mistake, James Davies’ cross was unable to be converted by Breese who missed the ball.

Neil Mitchell was denied an equaliser in the 65th minute as his shot was charged down and saved bravely by Tibbetts.

Almost identically, James Davies was next to fall short to a Tibbetts save.

Substitute Tyrone Ofori displayed pace and power to get the better of Joe Williams on a counter-attack but his shot was high and wide of the goal.

Attacker Kelly showcased his ability in the channels in the last quarter of the match, brilliantly getting to the by-line before finding Bradley in the box. The latter failed to double his tally as his miss-hit volley went wide.

Newtown finally got the better of Tibbetts to equalise with a cultured left-footed finish inside the box by Nick Rushton with only a handful of minutes left of play.

Caernarfon Town: Josh Tibbetts, Joe Williams, Gareth Edwards, Sion Bradley, Paulo Mendes, Mike Hayes, Darren Thomas, Telor Williams, Jamie Crowther, Mike Parker (Louis-Augustin Kondjo 70’), Jack Kenny.

Goals: Sion Bradley (34’)

Yellow Cards: Telor Williams (12’), Paulo Mendes (60’), Mike Hayes (77’)

Newtown: Dave Jones, Sean McAllister (Tyrone Ofori 70’), Kieran Mills-Evans, James O’Neill, Neil Mitchell (Ryan Edwards 80’), Nick Rushton, Jamie Breese, Jordan Evans (Jake Phillips 83’), James Davies, Craig Williams (C), George Hughes

Goals: Nick Rushton (84’)

Yellow Cards: James O’Neill (31’)

(Featured image: Lewis Sharpe)