Wales squad announced for triple-header includes Ramsey and Bale

Profile picture of Lewis Sharpe
Lewis Sharpe November 5, 2020

Author: Lewis Sharpe

Publisher: Y Clwb Pel-Droed

Wales’ squad to face the USA, Finland and the Republic of Ireland was announced this morning.

Despite hobbling off with a thigh injury in the Juventus’ Champions League 4-1 win against Ferencvaros last night, Aaron Ramsey has been named in Wales’ squad for this month’s fixtures.

Tottenham Hotspur-trio Gareth Bale, Joe Rodon and Ben Davies have also been called up.

Manager Ryan Giggs, no strangers to a surprise call up, has chosen to name Newport County midfielder Josh Sheehan in the squad.

Making a return to the Wales squad amidst injury to Wayne Hennessey and Adam Davies is Owain Fôn Williams. The 33-year-old from Penygroes who currently plies his trade for Scottish side Dunfermline Athletic could make his second appearance for Wales in their friendly against the USA a week today.

Derby County winger Tom Lawrence has been called up for the first time since October 2019, with his last Wales appearance coming in Wales’ 2-1 win to Azerbaijan.

Despite regularly featuring for Cardiff City recently, midfielder Will Vaulks has been left out of the squad, with Matthew Smith, Joe Morrell and Dylan Levitt, who occupy similar positions to Vaulks, involved.

Also left out of the squad is striker Hal Robson-Kanu after Tyler Roberts’ impressive performances last time out earning him another call up.

Wales’ squad to face the USA, Finland and Republic of Ireland:

Goalkeepers: Danny Ward, Owain Fôn Williams, Tom King.

Defenders: Chris Gunter, Ben Davies, Connor Roberts, Ethan Ampadu, Chris Mepham, Tom Lockyer, Joe Rodon, Neco Williams, James Lawrence, Ben Cabango, Rhys Norrington-Davies.

Midfielders: Aaron Ramsey, Jonathan Williams, harry Wilson, David Brooks, Daniel James, Matthew Smith, Joe Morrell, Dylan Levitt, Brennan Johnson, Josh Sheehan

Forwards: Gareth Bale, Tom Lawrence, Kieffer Moore, Tyler Roberts, Rabbi Matondo.

(Featured image: Dafydd Jones)